Okra – An acquired taste

Okra1 Okra2

 

One vegetable that we are having an abundance of this year is okra.  I guess this balances us out because our okra has not done well the last couple of years.  It seems to be a feast or famine type of crop.  So far we have put 16 quarts in the freezer and have given some to some of our relatives.  It is still healthy and usually will bear until it frosts.

Growing up I was not a big fan of okra. I know many people do not care for it.  The first time I actually liked okra was one time when we were eating at the Derby restaurant in Bannertown.  People around here are familiar with the Derby.  It has been around since the 40’s, maybe earlier.  Anyway,  they battered and deep fried it and I seemed to prefer it that way.  Since then I have learned to like it as long as it is fried.  Stewed okra is another matter.

The other main uses I know of for okra are vegetable soup and gumbo.  I have only had gumbo a couple of times in my life but I have liked it.  I guess I need to look for a gumbo recipe that is not too spicy and give it a try.  I will have to do something with all that we have grown this year.

I will try to add some more posts in the near future about some garden news from earlier this summer.  Until then, have a great day.

 

 

This entry was posted in The Garden Spot and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

