Refrigerator Slaw

I have done several posts about my vegetable garden and thought I should start including some information about what I do with all the stuff I grow.  Of course we eat a lot of it while it is fresh, but we preserve several things to get us through the winter.  Mom is still supervisor of the canning and freezing processes, but my sister and I help out as much as we can.  Today I decided to start including some of the canning and preserving recipes for different goods that we will put during the summer.  I will start with mom’ refrigerator slaw recipe.  This is what we do with some of the cabbage we grow.  The picture below is from the first batch we made this year.  The cabbage is from my sister’s garden.  Ours is not quite ready yet.

DSC_0162

Ingredients

  • Cabbage to make 1 gallon of chopped cabbage
  • 2 Onions
  • 2 Pods of sweet green pepper
  • 4 tablespoons of salt
  • 2 cups  Apple Cider vinegar , 5%
  • 2 cups sugar

Directions

Chop cabbage, onions, and pepper and combine.  Sprinkle with salt and let sit for 5 minutes. Squeeze water from mixture.  Add sugar and vinegar and stir.  Place in jars making sure vinegar covers the slaw.  Add extra vinegar if necessary.  Place in refrigerator. Should last indefinitely if kept refrigerated.

Well, so much for my first attempt at recipe sharing.  Let me know if you try it.  Have a great evening.

 

This entry was posted in The Garden Spot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Refrigerator Slaw

  1. Grandma really like this slaw. I may try to make some this year.

    I have been canning beets over the past couple of days. Only have 7 quarts so far. It is really dry here, so everything is coming in slowly. Hopefully we’ll have some rain soon!

    Hope you all are doing well!

Leave a Reply

