Writing 101 Day 2 – A view

Me at Mount Rushmore in 2009

Me at Mount Rushmore in 2009

For my writing challenge today (A view) I would like to tell about my trip a few years ago to Mount Rushmore.  I had been in Colorado for a Christian family camp and decided to do some sightseeing before heading back to North Carolina. I had not been to this area of the country before and did not know what to expect.

I had been staying in Cheyenne, Wyoming with my preacher’s family for the trip. After renting a car I headed out to Rushmore.  It happened to be the day before the Sturgis motorcycle rally started so I encountered a lot of motorcycles on the way. After stopping in Custer and touring a woodcarving museum it was off to my final destination.  The drive had been different for me because of the openness of the country.  It seemed like I could see 3 or 4 miles of road ahead of me and only 1 or 2 cars.  The traffic was still sparse but the mountainous terrain as I got closer to Rushmore felt more like country I was used too.  I will never forget my first glimpse of the images on the mountain. As I was coming around a curve you could see right profile of George Washington and nothing else. After a short drive to the parking area it was finally time to see the entire carving. All I can say is that I was in awe.  The view from the main observation deck is inspiring, but looking at the mountain from different angles as you walk around the trails at the park help you realize the amazing amount of work that was required to create this monument. At the base of the monument remains much of the rock that was carved out to create the image, another sign of the work that went into the project.

That evening I stayed for an outdoor presentation telling about the four presidents chosen for the memorial.  This helped me have a great feeling to thinking about our nation and the work these men did leading our country. At the end of this presentation lights were turned on to show the memorial at night.  This just added another great visual memory for the trip.

I would recommend a trip to visit Mount Rushmore if you get a chance.  If so, plan to stay for the evening ceremony.  Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writing 101 Day 2 – A view

  1. Put It Together 4 U says:

    Thank you for sharing this wonderful memory! I truly hope to get there one day soon (it’s on my Bucket List). I enjoyed relishing in the feelings you had about the awesome sight before you.

    You have a new follower! 🙂 Wishing you the best during Blogging Univ.!

    ~ Angela

  2. Good job writing every day. At least to Day 2!! You asked if your description captured your awe. For me it doesn’t. I could have used less of the road and motorcycles and more of the details of what you saw besides the side view of George Washington. It’s common to want to set up the scene, but maybe if you tried writing this just standing on the observatory and describing the carvings and their size, we’d have a better feel. Not everyone reading this will be familiar with the faces on Mount Rushmore. Help us see them! Hope this helps.

    • Gary says:

      Thanks for your comment. I sometimes worry about making posts too long, which is why I left some details out. I guess that is part of the challenge in blogging.

  3. Wow, I could feel how much the travel did affect you. Great post!
    It would help though if you got a lil’ more descriptive at some point so we could visualize it clearly too. 🙂

  4. amforte66 says:

    I enjoyed your post quite a bit. Mt. Rushmore is amazing and it’s quite a sight to see. How the heck did someone carve that? That’s what I was wondering the whole time. You did a great job capturing the beauty of this spectacular sight as well as describing your feelings of patriotism. The motorcycles after Sturgis can be VERY overwhelming and loud!! 🙂

  5. Pingback: Jumble Spoiler – 06/06/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

