Remembering Eva Corder Doby on the 100th anniversary of her birth – April 26, 1914

eva

 

The other day I was looking at some markers in our church cemetery and noticed that today is the 100th anniversary of the birth of my Aunt Eva.  This made me think it would be a good time to share some thoughts about her and the connection between the Doby and Corder families

Since I am a history fan I decided to add a few thoughts about the day she came into this world,  Woodrow Wilson was president of the United States.  The world population was 1.8 billion, compared to 7 billion now.  World War I would begin in about 3 months.  The original Yankee Stadium would not be built for another 9 years. Penicillin would not be discovered for 14 years.  It still amazes me at the change that has taken place in the last 100 years, or the over 30 years since she passed away.

Now for a brief explanation of the links between the Corder and the Doby family.  I hope this simple to understand.  Eva Corder married my father’s brother, Alonza Doby.  Eva had a brother Charlie.  His son Bruce married my father’s sisters, Edna Doby.  Eva also had a sister named Lily. Her son Clifton Atkins married another one of my father’s sisters, Josie Doby. While this may sound complicated to some it was not that unusual among large rural families during days gone by,

The picture I have posted above of my aunt was taken in the early sixties and as I remember her most of the time she had a smile on her face.  Along with being my aunt she was my next door neighbor and I spent alot of time at her house.  My mom and her were always loaning each other things, especially during canning season.  Whenever tomatoes would start coming in I knew I would have to go next door and borrow the tomato juicer.  We helped each other out the best we could.

DSC_0020

One lasting memory we have of my aunt is the patch of flowers that she planted across the road from her house.  Although I do not know exactly when she planted them they have been there at least 50 years.  This picture was taken of the patch this spring, and we still refer to them as Eva’s lilies.

There are other things to mention, the fact that she was a good cook and her and my uncle caring for my grandma Doby after grandpa passed away, but I will end for now.  I hope this brings back some good memories for all who knew her.

This entry was posted in Family History. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

