My first garden update for 2014

The beginning of this years's garden

My facebook friends are familiar with my posts about the family garden.  So far there is not much to see but it has to start somewhere.  The first things to be planted this year were potatoes, lettuce, onions, cabbage, and squash.

Growing up the family vegetable garden was a major part of farm life.  Along with fresh vegetables to eat during the summer much time was spent canning vegetables and fruits for use throughout the winter.

One good thing about growing up in the late sixties and seventies was all your neighbors seemed to have a garden and sharing harvests back and forth was routine, although it could get to be more work than you wanted.  One year a neighbor had planted some October beans, a bean similar to pintos.  He had an abundant crop and called to see if we wanted any.  My parents and sister took a couple of buckets to pick some.  I wanted to stay home and watch a TV show so I agreed to shell them when they came back.  They were gone a long time but I figured they were just talking so I did not think much about it.  When they got home they smiled and told me the beans were out in the truck ready to shell.  When I went to get the 2 buckets the entire truckbed was covered with beans about 6 inches deep.  They all got a good laugh at the look on my face but I was determined to keep my end of the bargain and shell all of them.  However the next day it became obvious I had bitten off more than I could chew and my mom and sister helped me finish the job.

Thanks for visiting my page and I will update the progress of the garden throughout the summer.  Please feel free to share any gardening stories you have from your childhood.

This entry was posted in The Garden Spot and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first garden update for 2014

  1. I love your garden stuff. I planted a handful of onions in my little garden beds today. I’m thinking flower seeds this week and some daffodils from my mom’s house. Maybe some squash soon too.

  2. I’m glad you were finally able to get to work in your garden!

Leave a Reply

