Repentance – An On-Going Process

This is the second post in a series on the topic of repentance.  As I continue this study I would like to address the question of how often do we need to repent.  I am afraid sometimes we think of repentance as a one time thing that is done when we first become a Christian.  However, after we become a Christian we still make mistakes that we need forgiveness for.  We know we should pray to God for forgiveness of the sins we commit, but do we have an attitude of repentance about these sins?

To illustrate the need for on-going repentance I would like to look at some scriptures from the book of Revelation concerning the seven churches of Asia.  In His message to these congregations Jesus mentions the need for repentance to five of the seven.  Below I will comment on theverses that specifically mention repentance but I encourage to read all of Chapters 2 and 3 to fully see what is being talked about here.

Rev 2:5 Remember therefore from whence thou art fallen, and repent, and do the first works; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will remove thy candlestick out of his place, except thou repent

This verse shows there are consequences for not repenting

 

Rev 2:16 Repent; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth.

This verse shows that lack of repentance will find you in opposition to Jesus

 Rev 2:22 Behold, I will cast her into a bed, and them that commit adultery with her into great tribulation, except they repent of their deeds.

Again the consequences of not repenting are noted

Rev 3:3 Remember therefore how thou hast received and heard, and hold fast, and repent. If therefore thou shalt not watch, I will come on thee as a thief, and thou shalt not know what hour I will come upon thee.

The point I would like to make about this verse is repentance should not be delayed.

Rev 3:19 As many as I love, I rebuke and chasten: be zealous therefore, and repent.

Remember that God loves us and wants us to repent so we can have a relationship with him.

My final thought for this post is when you read all of Chapters 2 and 3 you see these  churches are doing a lot of good things but are making some mistakes.  This is true of all of us today.  While Jesus acknowledged the things they were doing well,  He still said everything they were doing wrong had to be dealt with.  As we look at our lives we can be glad of the things that are going the way they should in our Christian walk we, like the seven churches, must still repent of the things that are not in accordance with God’s will.

I will post some more thoughts on this subject in the days to come.  I would appreciate any comments you have.

This entry was posted in Repentance and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

