A study of repentance

Today I am doing something a little different as I begin a series of posts on the subject of repentance. I feel this is a topic that is overlooked these days in the discussion of the relationship between God and man. Instead of a single post I plant to do a series of brief posts in order to do a more thorough study of the subject. Today I would like to concentrate on 2 thoughts; the meaning of repentance and is repentance necessary.

Meaning of Repentance.

If you ask most people what repentance means I think the basic response would be being sorry for what you have done. In fact that is the first definition I found online when doing this study. However, a second definition indicates that the sorrow leads to a change in lifestyle. I feel this is more in line with what God wants us to do in our lives. I think the following scripture from Acts 2 makes this clear.
37 Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles, Men and brethren, what shall we do?
38 Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost

Verse 37 says they were pricked in their hearts, indicating they were already sorry for what they had done. Instead, they knew they needed to do something about it. Peter then tells them the action required is repentance. This is all I am going to say in this introductory post. I may add more later.

Is repentance necessary in our relationship with God?

Listed below are 2 verses I feel show the need for repentance
Acts 17:30 And the times of this ignorance God winked at; but now commandeth all men every where to repent
Luke 5:32 I came not to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.
These 2 verses show that repentance is commanded by God and the message that Jesus came to this earth in human form to bring. While I could say more I feel this shows that repentance in required in a relationship with God.

This is all I wish to say at this time. I will be sharing more on this topic in the weeks to come. I encourage all of you to add any comments you may have to make this study helpful to me as well as anyone that is following my blog.

This entry was posted in Repentance and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A study of repentance

  1. David Mills says:

    Perhaps in seeing the necessity to emphasize immersion, we don’t emphasize repentance as we ought, thought both are taught in the same verse you mentioned. Wonder how many non-repentant folks have been baptized. Thanks for you writing on this topic.

Leave a Reply

