The Christian and Patience

During the recent Valentine’s holiday I noticed several references to I Corinthians 13:4 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It made me think about that fact that patience is something that is not stressed very much in our society today.  As I thought more about the idea of patience I decided to share a couple of thoughts about patience as a Christian.

As the verse from the beginning of my post mentions, patience is a characteristic of love.  Why is that the case?  I feel the main reason is because it involves our relationships with the people around us.  In case you did not know, people are not perfect, even the people you care about.  In most cases one of their imperfections might be an unwillingness to change things in their lives that need correcting.  How many chances do you give your loved ones to make changes in their lives.  I’m sure most parents give there children a second chance when they make a mistake.  We need to do so with all the people in our lives.

2 Peter 3:15  Bear in mind that our Lord’s patience means salvation, just as our dear brother Paul also wrote you with the wisdom that God gave him    

Is there any greater example of patience in our world.  I have heard several people say that if they were in God’s place they would go ahead and put an end to this world because of the all of the evil in it.  Why hasn’t God made that decision.  This scripture points out that God wants man to be saved.  For some people that is going to require a little more time.  I do not claim to know when the Lord will return, but I know those that will come to know him in the future will be glad for the patience he showed to them!

James 5: 7  Be patient, then, brothers and sisters, until the Lord’s coming. See how the farmer waits for the land to yield its valuable crop, patiently waiting for the autumn and spring rains.

Sometimes I am afraid sometimes we let patience turn into procrastination!  While the farmer has to wait for the crop to mature, he still has to harvest it when the time is right.  If we have a certain situation in our lives that calls for us to be patient, do we think about when the opportunity is right for us to act.  I am afraid sometimes we are waiting for God to take care of a situation when we need to put forth some effort.

Proverbs 15:18 A hot-tempered person stirs up conflict, but the one who is patient calms a quarrel.

In many cases, patience is the solution to a problem.  How many times have we been glad for “cooler heads to prevail”.  There are times when doing nothing is the appropriate action.

I am sure many of us has seen the prayer that says “God give me patience and give it to me NOW”.  It is a funny little saying but I am afraid it reflects our attitude.  In closing I ask that we truly consider the need for patience in our lives as Christians, and what type of response is required at those times.

This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

