Weekly Photo Contest – Object

DSC_0115

The weekly wordpress photo contest theme this week is object.  I took a walk with my camera yesterday to see what I would come up with.  I took several photos of different “objects” and decided to post this one.  The main object for me is the tombstone in the front of the picture.  It is in the cemetery where I go to church.  If you could read it you would see it is the marker for George Doby, buried in 1910 at the age of the 15.  It is the oldest marker in the cemetery,  although there are several unmarked graves so I cannot say it is the oldest grave.

This particular marker has always had a special meaning for me.  First of all is the family connection, because this was my grandfather’s brother. My grandfather also had a son named George that was my uncle.  I sometimes wonder if they were similar in any way, but have no one to answer that question.  The fact that that is the oldest marker makes me think about what the image was like to be a lone, solitary marker for several years.  It is also interesting for me to compare it to other markers nearby.  It is very simple by comparison and much more weathered and difficult to read, but has stood the test of time and is now over 100 years old!

Oh well, so much for my weekly contest post.  I would appreciate any comments you may have!

 

 

This entry was posted in Family History, Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Photo Contest – Object

  1. pattichulick56 says:

    There are many special links if we can quiet ourselves enough to think. My Mother-in-Law made the same statement about her Father’s grave. They buried him in a new section of the Cemetery, and his grave was the only one there for several years. It looks lonely to us. The person isn’t lonely though, because they have passed on to God’s love and family that died before them. At least, that is what I believe. It is a lonely and dismal image, though.

Leave a Reply

