Dad getting mamma out of jail to marry her!

My mother's parents, Johnny and Daisy Collins

My mother’s parents, Johnny and Daisy Collins

So far I have talked about my father’s side of the family. Now a little bit about my mother’s side of the family. The picture above is of her parents, Johnny and Daisy Collins.
I guess I need to explain the title of my post now before someone gets the wrong idea. Whenever somebody asks dad about how long they have been married, he usually will mention that he had to get her out of jail to marry her. In a way this is a true story. My grandfather was the jailer for Surry County and his family lived at the jail. Grandma actually cooked the meals for the prisoners. Hmm, seems like I remember a TV character doing this. Everyone gets a good laugh when they find out what daddy is talking about. As you can imagine, mamma and daddy have several interesting stories to tell relating to this experience, but I will save some of them for later. Have a great day!

This entry was posted in Family History and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dad getting mamma out of jail to marry her!

  1. You look like your grandfather.

  2. Gary, I love your blog and the stories that you are sharing about the family! Thanks for taking the time to do this.

Leave a Reply

